Wifi Integration

I mentioned this briefly in the “Expectation for the Next Firmware” thread, but i wanted to elaborate on some features and discuss this a bit more since I think it’s a large enough feature that it likely won’t be in the NEXT firmware update (GD32Base-2.2 is the current as of this post).

I understand most of this feature really depends on how much room is left in the ROM for the firmware. I am a software engineer and have worked in the embedded world so i understand what this would entail and the limitations. So just talking the “ideal” feature I think, we’ll assume there is enough room in the module. If for the full feature the touch screen would have to be replaced, you could certainly integrate/upgrade it with Wifi directly. I will say that if there is a nice Wifi feature set like i’ll describe (and other ideas from others i’m sure), I would certainly pay for that upgrade!

My only experience with an existing wifi setup on a 3d printing module has been with the Monoprice Mini. I think they had a good idea with their interface, but it was no executed properly, so it didn’t really work. If it did work, the base functions would be (not in order):

• upload a file to run
  • Current progress of run
  • ETA for completion
  • Current temp/speed/whatever for module
  • Current file being printed
  • Stop/pause
  • update firmware
  • restart unit