What software do you design in?

Hi.

I was just wondering what software people are using to design and model in for their prints.

I don’t really have much experience with CAD software, or any 3D modeling software for that matter, but I decided to start with Blender.

I like Blender because it is free, very robust and is platform independent. It also has a strong community behind it. It has a pretty steep leaning curve, however, and it isn’t really designed with engineering in mind… so you have to be careful when creating parts that require tight specs. You can’t just (for example) grab a .9mm hole you made in an object, and say “make it 1.1mm”. Instead, I find you have to plan in advance, and really know what you want up front, because tweaking can be a bear. There are some addons, like measureit, that help quite a bit, but it is still trial and error.

What do you use? What are the pros and cons as you see it?

Ho @moonglum

Doug the newbie here, use Fusion 360 from Autodesk. It does take a while to learn however I think it is great. I have placed a number of links to Fusion 360 training videos on our Snaplinks Wiki page.

Enjoy!

Doug

To dip my toes into 3D modeling I started with TinkerCAD. It is made by Autodesk so there will be things that will transfer over to Fusion 360. Also, it is free and has a great tutorial to get you started with how the program works. TinkerCAD runs completely in your browser so there is no worry about having a powerful computer to run it.

@moonglum, I started out using Tinkercad.com like @Hitchhiker. However i think it is worth to learn Fusion 360, especially if you want rounded edges and more fluid lines in your design. That’s what I’m learning right now.

Anyone use FreeCAD?

Fusion360
I really like the parametric parameters, it makes changing design and prototyping very easy.

I also use others occasionally, such as Rhino, Sketchup, SolidWorks and Cinema4D.